11 of 18

I graduated high school in 2003 and I have to say that “power points” were awesome for presentations. They were both visual AND they worked as notes cards. I agree with class that most of the time we would sit up there and read them right off the board…and… we were not graded on content, but…presentation. It was all about who spent more time preparing for the presentations rather than who was able to look away from the power point the most. It was about who came up with the most creative special effects…there were pictures, animations….and when students figured out how to put a “Utube” video on the slide…that was an automatic “A”. I lived by power points…better than writing at 5 page paper! However, now, whenever I hear power points I just want to know one thing…”how many slides”…I want to know this so I can count down! I really don’t like power points and I hope that they fade out the way instant messaging did when it first started. I was all over it like white on rice….talking to 15 different people at once, thinking this was better than a cell phone because there was no hanging up and calling back…now I don’t even sign on…hoping that I never have to again…it’s been 3 years since my last “im”. I love technology and the constant change that goes along with it, but, I feel like when someone new comes along and is really simple to pick up on….teachers grab on to it and beat it to death…like power points…=)

No comments yet»

Leave a comment