12 of 18

I am so happy that we have to write a lesson plan in addition to our PowerPoint project. I was nervous about us simply creating a cool power point that can only really work for one student. I have discovered in other classes that you should not put anything up on the board that you do not want students to write down, because as they start writing…they are no longer listening to the teacher. This was the case for me in high school. Often times a teacher would put up a power point and talk about each bullet…as a student I was writing down everything that was on the slide before I was listening to what the teacher was saying. To me, what was on the slide was more important than what the teacher was saying…which could and could not be the case.

Going back to the lesson plan in addition to the project- I think our group needs to write the lesson plan before we create our power point. Once we have an idea of what we want the students to know and gain…then we can fit the power point to do just that. I think it needs to be more of a tool rather than the entire lesson. We were excited right away about creating a game, using Romeo & Juliet and summaries of the Acts and a quiz. However, now I’m am starting to feel that doing this may eliminate the need for a teacher and the only way students can benefit from a PowerPoint like that is by using it on their own. The ones we saw in class are the same case. Maybe in small groups they would work, or if you broke the class up into teams for the quiz, but in terms of the “mini lesson” before…students learn at different rates and styles…I need to read and do something over and over again before it is committed to memory. So, if I was learning Spanish…I would need to listen and read the color red several times before I actually commit it to memory. I may be able to fly through the quiz five minutes after I read it, but, if you were to just give me the quiz the next day…I would remember little to nothing. That’s not to say the PowerPoint is a bad idea, but, I think it just needs to be an additional tool…not the only tool in a lesson.

1 Comment»

  Steve Ransom wrote @

Krisitin, you are exactly right – start with a lesson plan (standards, goals, objectives, assessment, pedagogies). Learning always needs to be well anchored in these areas. Your procedure might be pretty thin, as the students will be learning with the PowerPoint, but the rest of the lesson plan framework is what will keep the learning focused and measurable.
And, of course, HOW this tool is used is determined by the teacher. It is not advisable that it be used to replace other forms of teaching, but rather to support, engage, and reinforce. But, it also takes on a whole new dimension when the students are creating these types of interactive shows.


Leave a comment