I lost count…

When it comes to pod casts…I have to say I may be a fan. I was always a fan of books on tape and when I was driving and hour and a half to Geneseo three day a week one of my professors gave me a few books we were reading on CD and I thought it was the great. Half the time when I was driving I was just trying to get there so I could do work. When he gave me those tapes I was able to pop in the CD and pick up where I left off on my drive. I wanted to do the same for my other English classes but I was unable to to find any of the books (and if I did they were out of my budget). Nevertheless, I do own an i-pod…I have had an i-pod for three years…I never thought to put a book on it…now I’m kicking myself for not thinking about it.

I made the mistake of getting the nano when it first came out (It only has 2GB) and now I want a bigger on…but can’t justify spending the money on it…yet. I like to read a lot and would love to be able to load a chapter of a book onto my i-pod and drive (My commute to work and school is about 40 minutes…30 the way I drive). But, having the book on my i-pod would save me from digging around my Cd’s, flipping stations, or even flipping my i-pod to a new song or artist. I know this doesn’t have to do much with education, but, I do think it’s a good idea to cleaning up my car ride…I have books in my back seat for “just in case moments” when I have to wait for a long time…hmmmm…

Anyways, in terms of education we as teachers can carry less books, not worry so much about DVDs, Cd’s, or VHS! If we familiarize ourselves with the i-pod and know how the technology works…then our technological difficulties in class will be minimal. No skipping Cd’s, confusing remotes, and long stares into a blank screen saying, “huh…I wonder what’s not working”.

As for students, I still do not know if I trust them enough to have them on. Now, if we had class i-pods…that operated like computers where there is the teacher computer that can monitor what everyone else is doing…then maybe. But, they are expensive and easy to lose, so, I’m still a little hesitant about giving them to the students, but, as teachers, I think it is something we should really think about working into our classroom as a tool for us. 

2 Comments»

  greg kinslow wrote @

I feel the same way, and never thought of using an ipod as an educational tool, either for myself or my students. What a great way to continue to educate yourself. The fact that i can sit in on a FREE lecture from Harvard is pretty cool. Great points.

  Stephen Ransom wrote @

Kristin, I can understand your fears about students not being responsible enough for expensive technologies like iPods and even laptops. But don’t underestimate them. Most such initiatives have found that students of all ages are indeed quite responsible with them. Of course, there are policies in place and both students and parents are made aware of those policies for irresponsible behaviors and accidental mishaps. It is when we give students ownership that they respond most responsibly. When it is not “theirs”, they then do care less.


Leave a comment