16 of 18

When it comes to Thursday’s class the one thing that really stuck in my mind was Disney and how we need to pay $25.00 rights in order to show a movie we already purchased to a large group. I am pretty sure that every single summer camp I attended when I was younger showed Disney movies on rainy days and I am pretty sure the the summer camp I work at today does not pay $25.00 when we bring in movies to watch. It is interesting all of the details in the fine print. Now, I know the likely hood of anyone really suing anyone is slim…but- one can’t be too careful today. If Disney ever went around and collected from everyone who has every broken this law…summer camps around the world would be bankrupt and Disney would have enough money to build and employ a whole new park…

Also, the video at the end of the Power Point was neat simply because Disney is so creative to start, but to take those movies and twist them into a “tale” on copyrights on a business who has the most ridiculous fine print ever. Either way, I still love the movies and I love the one we watched in class (I watched Beauty and the Beast today-it touched me that much).

Anyways, I do believe that it is important to understand the copyright laws as a teacher because if we are not teaching our students properly then they’ll never learn until they are caught. Thinking back I do not think I ever had a teacher say, “Did you ask permission to use this?” “You may want to be careful about copyrights here.” But, if I ever some multi-media project I did on-line…I think I would be in trouble. Can we be in violation when we embed a video from You-tube? Or are they giving away rights as soon as they post them on line? Now, I feel like I should never touch anything….I can only use things that are on the sight Ransom showed in class…this is the sad thing about learning and growing up…you start to be held responsible….

1 Comment»

  Stephen Ransom wrote @

Certainly, begin using Creative Commons to search for content, along with the other sites that have content that you can use without worrying.
As for YouTube, you don’t need to worry about embedding content, as it is not your own and you are not hosting it nor distributing it. YouTube is doing that. You are merely displaying their content on your page. Sites like YouTube are really challenging the notion of copyright when it comes to media, for sure!


Leave a comment